Cycle 3AT: I believe I can fly…

"If there are Big Trips you want to do, go now while you're doing well.  Don't make plans for October—we don't know how you'll be then." 

Dr. Sattar, the oncologist covering for my own traveling doc, proceeded to tell me it would be preferable that I go to London ("11 hour nonstop flight") or Hawaii, rather than drive to Yellowstone and spend a week of strenuous activity at high elevation.  If I should hike, it should be at 3 or 4,000 feet.  I marginally passed the O2 saturation test, and my hemoglobin levels are excellent (considering I'm at my 3rd cycle).  Liver's taking a hit due to Tarceva, so definitely no alcohol can be consumed 😦

"A picture's worth a thousand words."

That's what he said, as he showed me the last and most recent CT scan side by side.  What a difference—I wish I could post it.  The report hasn't been authenticated, so I have to wait for an official copy.  But in a nutshell, the pleural effusion (fluid in my left lung) has resolved, pericardial effusion (fluid around heart) is decreased, no new hot spots, other lesions are stable, and last but not least….the main tumor is 2.6 cm….down from 4.0 cm (the smallest it's been till now)!! 

Praise the Lord, and Allah, Buddha, and all the other deities that watch over us.

Is that a breakthrough or what?  Much more than I even hoped for.  I've gotta go somewhere, like he said, while the irons are hot.  Where to go, where to go, where to go?

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

7 thoughts on “Cycle 3AT: I believe I can fly…

  1. This is fantastic!(sorry, I'm way behind on my Vox viewing…)I'm so happy for you! If the Tarceva is working this well this quickly, I would think there's a good chance it could reduce your lung tumors into non-existence.Enjoy London!

Leave a Reply

