Happy Thanksgiving

I'm sitting in Barnes & Noble, trying not to be overwhelmed by another materialistic holiday. I used to love Christmas, but these days it seems to have become one giant shopping/marketing frenzy. Makes me want to give everyone mathoms.

I want to withdraw from the madness and try to remember what the season's supposed to be about. I don't have kids, but if I did I'd want to take them to someplace beautiful, emphasize togetherness, and teach them charity for the poor by going to work at a food bank or something. I think I'd emphasize making crafts for presents, defining them as tokens of meaning, remembrance, and craftsmanship. That's what you do when you don't have money. Often a much more appreciated gift, especially now, when the economy is on the skids. Or (and I have many treasured gifts of this nature) hit the thrift shops and recycle.

All the spending makes me want to throw up.

This Thanksgiving, look around the table at your friends and loved ones, look into your heart, and give thanks for just how lucky we all really are.

This is my 4th Thanksgiving since being diagnosed with terminal cancer. I'm grateful beyond belief to be here, and thankful for all of you.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Sent from my iPhone

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

15 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving

  1. I think you'll really like it. It's an indie flick and a bit emo, but not exactly a Hallmark Special. It's truly the best holiday movie I've ever seen. I saw it at the Dome in Pleasant Hill in 2005.

  2. Happy Thanksgiving Jaz & Micheal …….
    Yes,well said about the holidays .
    We Love you both and miss you both something awful . We pray you all enjoy the special day and stay safe on your travels . Give our love to the family .
    XOXOXOXOMom & Dad 🙂

  3. Hey Jazz! You should have done NaNoWriMo with me. I'm telling you… it's hard but not that hard. The feeling when you finish… it's just awsome. Next year? Ok?

Leave a Reply

