The last day of 2009

It'll be a full moon tonight, a Blue Moon on New Year's Eve.  Once again I wonder where the year went.  I can barely remember being off treatment, sometime in the summer.  More vivid is the memory of the (painful) bone biopsy and making our first offer on a house the next day (I hobbled around with a cane).  And more significant is the lingering feeling of having wasted that precious time house hunting!  But anyway.  Here we are.

It used to be a goal of mine to wake up in a place I'd never been on New Year's Day (and no, not on the floor of some place I don't recall going).  I had a romantic notion of walking the quiet, rainy streets – or maybe sunny streets – of Rome or Tahiti or hell, I don't know…some far off land, on New Year's Day while everyone else slept their hangovers away.  I always thought that would set the tone for the rest of the year, or at least I traveled somewhere that year, if that was the only chance.  Alas, on the rare occasion the hubby's home on New Year's Eve, he's living his dream (being home).  So much for that idea.  That said, I haven't entirely lost sight of what's truly important.  Or have I?
I just received an e-mail from my oncologist, thanking me for some stuff I left for him. 

"Thanks for actual food and the proverbial food for thought.

You have done very well with living your life being aware of the cancer and keeping it from being your primary focus.

You are an amazing person and our team recognizes how fortunate we are to work with you. We have learned from you as well.

Again, thanks for your many gifts. Best to your husband,

Happy Holidays and Happy New Year…"

Everyone seems happy to see 2009 go, but this time last year everyone was excited about Obama's inauguration and the end of 2008, which seemed truly awful.  
Well, this might rank as the most boring New Year's Eve I've ever had.  It's too cold to take the boat out to SF Bay to watch fireworks, and it's supposed to rain (although it seems dry to me).  The best thing about today was hanging out in the afternoon with an old friend from work days.
Either way, we're all still here, and that's very much to be joyful about, possibly more than I could even hope for!
HAPPY NEW YEAR, EVERYONE!

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

5 thoughts on “The last day of 2009

  1. I have always had the same sort of dream for my birthday, which I think of as a personal new year. There is something about travel that expands the mind and makes you feel like a stronger human being.

Leave a Reply

