How do I miss Vox…let me count the ways

Vox, how will I miss you?  Let me count the ways.  I will miss your

1.   6 privacy settings – Everyone, neighbor, friends, family, friends and family, nobody

2.  Media display template – where you could display a group of photos, video, audio, books, and collections on the sidebar.  Where you could go to the media category and get a gallery of the items, and if you clicked on it, it had a description and all the posts associated with it, as well as if it had been favorited.

3.  Library organization – All your media content, neatly organized, and then some other features I never even got to use in 4 years of blogging.

4.  Ease of adding media content (already linked)

5.  Favorite-ing other blog content (I’m sure it’s on WP, just haven’t got there yet)

6.  Themes that were easy to navigate and colorful compared to what I’m going through now.  I know, I know…if I hosted my own blog I could load themes and plug-ins and all sorts of things

7.  Ease of navigation.  I’m not a techie.  Vox was like the instamatic of blogging.  Maybe it didn’t have all the features someone would want, but it was just enough for me.

8.  My neighborhood.  I will miss that the most.  It really did support community networking.

I’m so bummed.  I’ve spent hours here already and I’m too dumb to figure out how to create all the groups of pretty media I had at Vox.  Ugh.  I need more coffee.  I think I may actually have to sit at a desk and do this now, because the lazy days of Vox and sitting on the couch blogging are gone.  At least for now.

Adversity’s supposed to create strength and growth.  I need that but I wasn’t looking for blogging for that, actually.  I’ll stop ranting now.

4 thoughts on “How do I miss Vox…let me count the ways

    • Hi JP,
      Nice to hear a friendly voice out there. Yep, I’m whining. You can’t imagine the number of hours I’ve spent on this whole migration thing. I fret over how screwed up all the pictures look on photo-intensive posts. Lame, but I actually used Vox to store images of books I either didn’t finish or wanted to read, so that’s kicking me in the butt. It’s sort of good—I realize how much the blog means/meant to me that I’m trying to salvage as much of it as possible. I haven’t spent this much time on it or the computer in years! But, there are things to do…

      Anyway, good to see you “in the ‘hood” 😉

Leave a Reply

