The Last Days of 2011

Or…things that make me want to live longer.

Like the smell of hot milk.

Or the glimmer and smell of a fresh tree, delivered fully decorated, a surprise from a dear friend.

Or being greeted by flowers and pampering after a lung biopsy.

Or a lung biopsy that goes well, with a male nurse (Manny) who made sure I felt no part of the procedure unlike last time, a technician (Cassandra) who’s done my scans for the last five years, with whom I can talk books and life, a Japanese-Irish surgeon named Eamon Keniiche Kato who checked on me twice in the recovery room and called M personally after the procedure, and nurses Marietta and Molly who nourished my soul and my hunger before and after the procedure.  (Note to self:  always schedule outpatient surgery for the day before a holiday weekend, when no one else is having anything done, and you have all the nurses to dote on you.)

For this I feel truly blessed, happy to be alive and breathing.

It’s a sunny and brisk New Year’s Eve.  I may not be able to party the night away but it just drives home the knowledge that there are millions of people around the world who are lonely and alone, hungry and otherwise in a bad situation on this night.  Specifically I think of my brother, so this would be a good day to heal the bonds and start anew.

Should old acquaintance be forgot,
and never brought to mind ?
Should old acquaintance be forgot,
and old lang syne ?

CHORUS:
For auld lang syne, my dear,
for auld lang syne,
we’ll take a cup of kindness yet,
for auld lang syne.

And surely you’ll buy your pint cup !
and surely I’ll buy mine !
And we’ll take a cup o kindness yet,
for auld lang syne.

CHORUS

We two have run about the slopes,
and picked the daisies fine ;
But we’ve wandered many a weary foot,
since auld lang syne.

CHORUS

We two have paddled in the stream,
from morning sun till dine† ;
But seas between us broad have roared
since auld lang syne.

CHORUS

And there’s a hand my trusty friend !
And give us a hand o thine !
And we’ll take a right good-will draught,
for auld lang syne.

“Today is the last day of 2011. The last day of the last year in which Caroline lived.”

There is so much to this that resonates with me.  Her husband JW has posted a year-end review of 2011 and a memorial video of a New Year’s Eve tradition they followed in the short time they shared together.

I may do a year end redux, painful as 2011 was.  I have hope for 2012.

One thought on “The Last Days of 2011

Leave a Reply

