Pedal on

Prayer for a Ten Speed Heart

 

Let the fire of my body

propel and warm me

and let each darkness

reveal its plenitude.

Let the hills

flatten under my wheels

and let the eloquent curves

yield up their good surprise.

Let my heart be obstinate

when I need to climb

and let my lowliest gears

restrain my spinning down.

Let there be flatland, too,

and into that glittering place

let me stretch with the heart of a lover,

at full speed, blind and intent.

~~~Barbara Hendryson

Annette went on her eternal ride at 3 a.m. this morning.  Her daughter Michel and husband Steve held her hands as she floated peacefully away, in her own bed, without interventions, as she wished.

Rest in peace, dear friend.

One thought on “Pedal on

  1. Jazz, I am so sorry about your friend; another good warrior gone. The poem is beyond beautiful, thank you for sharing.

    Linnea

Leave a Reply

